Substrate compatibility decides first: anodizing is limited to aluminum and titanium, while powder coating suits metals that survive curing at about 200 °C. For wear-critical parts, Type III anodizing is the option associated with hardness and wear resistance, while powder coating is associated with impact resistance and a wider colour range.
Zinc plating is the only electroplating process with corrosion data here, and it fails earliest in salt spray.
Rule Out Finishes the Substrate Cannot Accept
Before comparing performance, check whether the finish can be applied to the part's material at all. Anodizing is an electrochemical conversion of the aluminum surface itself, so it is limited to aluminum and titanium and cannot be applied to steel2,31.
Powder coating is a cured polymer film applied electrostatically and then baked, so it only requires the substrate to survive the cure temperature of about 200 °C3. That makes powder coating the more substrate-flexible option for steel and other metals, and the fallback when anodizing is not suitable2,3.
The sources do not state substrate compatibility or pre-treatment requirements for electroplating, so it cannot be compared on this filter.
Match the Finish to the Failure Mode: Wear or Impact
The two finishes are aimed at different failure modes. Type III anodizing is positioned for functional parts that need high surface hardness and wear resistance2.
Powder coating is positioned for high impact resistance and a wide colour range, and is described as an alternative when anodizing is not suitable2.
One supplier reports that anodizing raises aluminum surface hardness from 25 HRC to 60+ HRC and reduces abrasion wear by 80%13; those are that supplier's figures and no independent hardness or abrasion data for powder coating or electroplating appears in these sources.
If the part sees sliding contact or abrasion, the evidence points to Type III anodizing; if it sees impact or needs colour, powder coating is the option the sources associate with those requirements2.
Check Whether the Quoted Salt-Spray Figure Is Defensible
Salt-spray hours are the most quoted corrosion number and the least settled. One source reports powder coating at 500–1,000 h and anodizing at 336–500 h, with zinc plating failing earliest at 96–200 h to white rust8.
Other sources report anodizing at 500–1,000 h15 and 1000+ h13, which overlaps or exceeds the powder coating range. The test conditions and standard are not stated for the S8 table, so the numbers alone do not rank the two finishes.
If the drawing does not specify a duration, 96–200 hours is suggested as a baseline for most industrial machinery components8. Before putting a salt-spray figure on a drawing, ask the finisher which standard was run, on what coupon, and with what acceptance criterion.
Check Thickness Against Tolerances and Geometry
Powder coating builds a film of roughly 18–72 µm and is described as having less dimensional control than anodizing3. Type II anodizing is described as having minimal dimensional impact31.
The sources do not state the mechanism behind that difference, so treat it as a reported property and verify it on the drawing. Powder coating is also difficult to apply to internal surfaces and struggles to maintain uniform thickness at edges and corners3,29.
If the part has bores, threads, or sealing faces, or if the tolerance is tight, ask the finisher how the coating thickness will be controlled and whether masking is needed.
Budget the Finish as a Separate Line Item and Add Its Lead Time
Secondary finishing is often outsourced, which adds handling, logistics and scheduling time on top of the process itself30. Coated parts are quoted at 7–21 days lead time versus 1–7 days for as-machined parts15.
On relative cost, powder coating is rated '$$$' while Type II anodizing is rated low–moderate3,31. The sources do not publish per-part processing, material, or fixturing costs for any of the three finishes, so the finish should be quoted as its own line rather than estimated from the machining price.
Confirm These Items on the RFQ Before You Commit
The sources do not supply compliance, pre-treatment or supplier-availability data for these finishes, so these checks have to come from the finisher.
- ✓Confirm the substrate can survive the powder cure temperature of about 200 °C.
- ✓Confirm the part is aluminum or titanium if anodizing is specified.
- ✓Ask how powder coating will cover internal surfaces, edges and corners.
- ✓Ask which salt-spray standard and coupon conditions the quoted hours refer to.
- ✓Ask for the finish thickness tolerance and whether masking is required.
- ✓Ask whether the finisher can meet the required lead time for the finish.
Where the Sources Disagree on Salt-Spray Hours
The two finishes are reported with overlapping salt-spray ranges, and the test conditions are not stated, so the buyer should verify the standard and coupon before treating either figure as a ranking.
| Disputed item (with unit) | One source reports | Another reports | What the buyer should do |
|---|---|---|---|
| Anodizing salt-spray hours (h) | 336–500 h | 500–1,000 h; 1000+ h | Ask the finisher which standard and coupon produced the quoted hours. |
| Powder coating salt-spray hours (h) | 500–1,000 h | No competing figure in these sources | Ask for the test standard and acceptance criterion before ranking. |
What the sources do not establish
- No ASTM B117 salt spray data with stated test conditions for electroplating (other than zinc plating hours) or for anodizing/powder coating under identical conditions.
- No Vickers/Rockwell hardness, Taber abrasion mg-loss, or coefficient-of-friction data for powder coating or electroplating.
- No gloss-level, texture, or color-uniformity data for electroplating, and no quantitative appearance metrics for any finish.
- No per-part processing cost, material cost, or tooling/fixturing cost for anodizing, powder coating, or electroplating.
- No substrate compatibility or pre-treatment requirements for electroplating.
- No thickness ranges or achievable tolerances for anodizing or electroplating.
- No RoHS, REACH, VOC, waste treatment, or industry certification information for any of the three finishes.
- No batch-size capabilities or supplier-availability data for the three finishes.
Sources · 8
- 2hubs.comIndustry peer technical page
- 3hubs.comIndustry peer technical page
- 8hotean.comUnclassified source2026-09
- 13fastpreci.comUnclassified source2026-09
- 15newayprecision.comUnclassified source
- 29eureka.patsnap.comUnclassified source
- 30fictiv.comIndustry peer technical page2026-03
- 31jlccnc.comIndustry peer technical page2025-12
Technical references cited for verifiability — not supplier recommendations. Browse the research library.